There are so many Digital Marketing Terms which might confuse you and you may be aware about them. So here is the glossary for Digital Marketing Terms which you really need to know whether you have a Digital Marketing background or not , you can still learn about them.
I’ll be discussing the Digital Marketing Terms in alphabetical order so that it will be easy for you people to find and learn about them.
Digital Marketing Terms glossary:
301 redirect (permanent):
It is a https status code which indicates that the webpage which the user is willing to visit is permanently changed to another webpage.
302 redirect (Temporary):
Https status code which indicates that the webpage which the user is willing to visit is temporarily moved.
404 broken page:
Https status code which indicates that the webpage user is willing to visit is not found on the website’s server.
Affiliate marketing is that commission which you earn by selling other people’s product, softwares etc. that commission depends on the product’s sale percentage.
For example, if a product costs $100, and some buys it through your affiliate and your commission percentage is 20%, then you will earn profit of $20 on that one product sale.
Ad Extension is that additional piece of information which is added with your ads such as address, price, webpage links, ratings, downloads etc.
These ad extensions help in the increase of Click Through Rate, improves performance and even increases your ad rank.
Alt Text(Alternative text):
Alt text is alternative text or additional descriptive text which is added to HTML code especially for visually impaired people to give them description about the image.
An anchor text is link text which is clickable text in HTML hyperlinks.
For example, if your website contains links about various “dog foods” , then Google will know that your website is linked to a site with dog foods resources.
It also helps in Google ranking related to anchor text keywords.
Backlink is hyperlinking of one website with another using HTML hrefs. Backlinks are created for Google organic rankings.
For example, if any website xyz.com has strong traffic and higher rankings than any other website abc.com, then abc.com will use backlinks of xyz.com and some traffic will be referred to abc.com as well using these backlinks.
It’s a good trick for accessing traffic from higher ranking websites.
Bounce rate refers to the percentage of users who get diverted in a very short time span from any website. This can increase or decrease depending on the time you stayed on someone’s website.
For example, If you accessed any website and you didn’t like it’s content then what would you do?? You will suddenly in a few milliseconds close that site or leave that page, which will lead to an increase in bounce rate of that particular site,which is actually not good for that site.
Banner Ads or Web banner is digital advertising which is displayed on targeted websites by Google. It is intended to attract the customers of targeted websites to that advertisers website who paid Google to show that ad.
Click Through Rate: Click Through Rate refers to the ratio percentage of users who actually clicked those certain links of advertisement or sites to all those users who visited that site.
It tells about the success of certain website
Cost Per Click: Cost Per Click is an advertising term in advertising model where advertiser has to pay certain desired or estimated amount to publisher whenever an ad is clicked on publisher’s site.
It is basically done to drive traffic to certain websites and to determine the cost of ad campaigns on search engines.
It is calculated by dividing the total cost of click to total number of clicks on a certain ad. Also known as Pay Per Click.
Cost Per Acquisition: It refers to the amount which any advertising platform is willing to pay in order to acquire a lead or conversion.
It is calculated by dividing the total cost which is spent on a certain ad campaign or social media by the number of new customers acquired from the same ad campaign.
For example, if an advertiser spent $100 on any ad campaign and got 5 leads/ conversion from that, then CPA is $20.
Cost Per Mile/ Cost Per Thousand: Cost Per Mile/ Cost Per Thousand refers to the cost an advertiser pays for 1000 views/impressions or clicks on his ad.
For example, if I am the publisher and you are the advertiser, and I have charged me $10 for 1000 impressions/views or clicks, then if your ad is clicked or viewed by 2000 users, then you will pay me $20 for CPM campaign.
Conversion: Completion of any target set by you on your website by the users who visited your site.
It is also calculated in terms of purchase made by your customer from the link on your site, subscribing to newsletter, signup etc.
Conversion Rate: Conversion Rate refers to the percentage of viewers who completed any target set by you(for e.g, clicking on a link) to the total number of viewers who actually viewed your site.
For example, if 100 people visit my website xyz.com for e.g, and 10 people fill out the subscription form on my site, then the conversion rate is 10%.
Call To Action: Call to action are those words or phrases which are designed to excite users for an immediate action or response.
For example, Hurry!! Limited Offer, Grab, Call Now, Find Out More etc.
Crawler: It is a program which is used by search engines to visit any website followed by hyperlinking. Crawling is done to collect information about that website and store its data or content in order to rank that website, if authentic and not plagiarized, in Google Search Engine results.
Display Ads: Display Ads or Digital Advertising refers to advertising on social media platforms, websites or apps through text content, images or video content which influences customers to click on those ads.
Display Networks: Display Network is a group of websites where display ads are shown. Google Display Ads Network is a group of over 2 million websites,apps or videos where ads are displayed. These sites can reach upto 90% of Internet users.
DoFollow: DoFollow refers to the link which allows search engine crawlers to reach your website by following the dofollow link from any highest ranking website.
For example, If Bill Gates Sir has linked your site through doFollow link, then Bill Gates Sir’s viewers will definitely reach to your website and some of his traffic may get diverted to your site.
DoubleClick: DoubleClick Digital Marketing(DDM) is a Google platform which provides advertisers to effectively perform, create, manage and advertise digital ad campaigns.
It helps advertisers and buyers to run digital campaigns across multiple platforms in a very easy manner.
Email Marketing: Email Marketing is a way of advertising or marketing of products, services or businesses and raising funds and donations through emails is Email Marketing. Sending Commercials, formal emails or messages to current customers or interested customers comes under Email Marketing.
Email Automation: Email automation is a process of sending auto-generated emails for right and targeted audiences without actually writing emails every time by yourself.
It helps you to capture leads and even promotes brand awareness among different viewers who might not are your customers.
These auto-generated emails are created based on certain factors such as location, interests and behaviours.
Email List: Email List is a list of email addresses collected by different businesses, lead generating campaigns which are of professional customers or leads gathered by email subscription of your businesses or websites.
It can increase or decrease based on your website subscribers through emails and your business contact information page depending whether they subscribe or unsubscribe
Form Fill: Any type of form attached at any type of website which is filled by users related to any subscription or feedback.
Form fill is basically done to gather email addresses of its users and website visitors.
Facebook Ads Manager: Facebook Ads Manager is a platform created by Facebook to create, manage and track your ads like how your ads will look,
time they will run and on which platform they will run and campaigns performance data.
Ads are run mainly on platforms by this tool is on Facebook, Instagram, Messenger and Audience Network.
Featured Snippets: Featured Snippets are those descriptive snippets or text that appear at the bottom or top of search results headlines which aim to provide quick information for which the user is searching for.
Only a few websites out of so many available in Google Search Results whose content is listed as featured snippets at the top of Google Search Result.
Facebook Advertising: Facebook Advertising refers to advertising of products or businesses based on demographics, locations, your post feeds, interests and many other factors. Facebook Ads are the most important factors for promotion and targeting the right audience.
Friction Element: Friction Element or distracting factor is that element which distracts the visitors or users of certain sites to perform the desired task for them or an action which is to be performed by them.
For e.g., click on link, signup for newsletter, email subscriptions, feedback etc.
Friction can be due to somany factors such as colors of page, bad fonts, bad resolution images etc.
Geofencing: GeoFencing is a marketing tool which sends smartphone users certain messages of discounts or offers based on when a user is in that area or nearby.
For eg., if you are near an ice cream shop and have geolocation enabled on your device, then you will receive a message of offers and discount prices on ice creams in that shop.
Geo-modifier: GeoModifier is a location based keyword that is appended to a keyword based on its search term.
For example, the search term is ‘doctors near me’ where ‘near me’ is the appended word.
Geo-targeting: GeoTargeting refers to advertising of products and displaying ads to customers or viewers based on their geographical location, behaviour and locality. This is generally done in social campaigns and paid search.
Google Analytics: Google Analytics is a tool developed by Google which provides you deep insights of your website , number of daily visitors on your site, traffic, bounce rate , growth and many other analytics information all under one platform.
Google My Business: Google Mybusiness is a platform created by Google to manage their online business presence and Google listings with the help of google Maps and Search whenever any customers tries to find any businesses on GoogleMaps and Search.
Google Search Console: Google Search Console is a tool created by Google to manage your site’s traffic and rankings in Google Search results. It is done to tell Google that you have created a new website and to start crawling your site for increasing rankings.
Headers: Headers are HTML headers or Headings which refers to highlighted text in larger fonts which tells users about that content information. Headers are generally created to tell the viewers about the importance of that text.
Heat Map: Heat Map is a data visualization tool which depicts the interaction of visitors in a certain site. Different colorful representations depicts how and where different viewers are mostly interacting.
HTTPS:HTTPS refers to HyperText Transfer Protocol Secure which is used to establish a secure connection with any site over the internet. It is done for data privacy and security over the internet while accessing different websites and transfer of data from web browser to website.
Hyperlink:Hyperlinking refers to links which are attached with hypertext that links different web pages and websites together.
Hreflang:Hreflang is a HTML attribute which is used to tell search Engines like Google relationship between different web pages in different languages and locations of the same website. It is used to depict the targeting based on language and geographical locations.
Impressions: Impressions refers to the number of times an ad or any other media on digital platforms displays on users screens. Impressions sometimes get increased by the multiple times an ad being viewed by the same viewer.
Indexing: indexing refers to the process of collecting information and adding web pages into Google Search Engine when crawlers have crawled your site.After being crawled, the website is now available to be ranked or indexed up on Google Search Engine.
Internal Link: Internal links refers to linking of one page to another on the same website.
Inbound Link: An Inbound link is the link of your website on another unique website. For e.g., when some unique website has a link to your website and someone clicks on that link and gets redirected to your site.
Key Performance Indicator (KPI): Key Performance Indicator is a goal or metric which helps you to keep track of your work and measure success and increasing rate.
Keyword: Keyword is that word or group of words which helps you search required content on Google Search Engine or any other search engine. In terms of SEO, keywords play a major role as correct keywords increase traffic and rankings of any website on the internet.
Keyword Bid: Keyword Bid refers to the amount an advertiser or bidder is willing to pay on a single keyword click in Google Ads.
Keyword Density: Keyword Density refers to the ratio of number of times a keyword appears in a particular web page or content to the total word count on that webpage.
Keyword Stuffing: Keyword Stuffing refers to placing keywords more than a required time in order to increase SEO ranking, or Google rankings of that article. keywords can be stuffed at anyplace like in title, headings, subheadings, description, links, meta-tags etc but this is not considered a good practise.
Landing Page: Landing page refers to that website where your targeted audience or visitors will reach after clicking on a link specified by you on your website or article. Landing pages are generally created for advertising and marketing purposes after ad running on different platforms such as Google, Youtube, Bing, Facebook etc.
Latent Semantic Indexing: Latent Semantic Indexing is a technique that uses mathematical formulas to determine the different keywords and text on any webpage. It is done to identify and collect different keywords used by a certain article or webpage and mostly done by web crawlers.
Lead Generation: The process of converting your potential customers into your profitable sales through products and services. This generally comes in marketing and sales.
Lifetime Value (LTV): Lifetime Value refers to the amount of revenue you will generate from your single customer throughout their lifetime. Lifetime depends on how much time a customer gets attached to you.
Local SEO: Local SEO refers to marketing of products and businesses which are based on a certain location as it helps them to promote products in local customers.
Lookalike Audience: Lookalike Audience refers to your targeted audience who have similar features related to your existing audience and is used in social media marketing as it was created by Facebook.
For e.g.,you have an educational website and have students as your existing customers and teachers as visitors on your site, then your lookalike audience is teachers as they both might be needed in your content and now it is easy for you to advertise.
Lead Nurturing: Lead Nurturing refers to converting your existing customers to your paid customers by marketing your products and convincing them in order to actually buy them now.
Medium: Medium refers to how a visitor visited your website. For e.g., if in Google Analytics, medium is ‘referral’ which means someone visited your website by some referral links or if medium is ‘organic’ which means someone visited your website through search results.
Meta Description: The description about the content of a webpage in search engine results which is not depicted anywhere in the actual content. This is done to give customers some short description about what this webpage contains or what this article is about.
Meta Title: Meta Title is the main title or descriptive title of any web page or article which gets displayed when you search in Search Engine. This is also referred to as the heading of any article or web page.
Mobile Friendliness: It means how a website will look and how easy it is to access it on mobile devices.
Noindex: An HTML tag which tells crawlers that do not index this webpage which means that this webpage should not be shown on the search engine results page.
Omni Channel Marketing: Omni Channel Marketing in simple terms means promoting or marketing of your services , products or business on every online and offline platform. Marketing from every aspect so that no sources should be left and is done to cover a large number of audience through social media platforms or direct contact.
Organic Traffic: Organic traffic means visitors or users who visited your website through results of a search engine. Organic traffic is not generated through any paid ads click or any type of advertisements but they reach you just from search engine results.
Page Authority: Page Authority just like Domain Authority is a score from 1-100 which describes how your web page will rank in terms of SERP(SEarch Engine Results Page). This term is created by Moz where high score means higher ranking.
Page Head: Page Head or HTML Head is the information which defines the contents of a web page other than the main content or body section of HTML. In this tag, title, meta data and other links or special listing is done in code.
Page Speed: Page Speed as it is clear from the term , term which tells about how quickly a specific webpage load or what is the loading time of that webpage. It is determined on a scale of 1-100 where a higher score means the webpage is performing well.
Penalty (search engine): A negative impact or an action taken against any website when it violated some guidelines intentionally or unintentionally. These penalties are generally applied by search engines which lead to drop in ranking and reduced traffic of any website.
Pixel: Pixel is a piece of code placed on your website through which you can gather information about website traffic, performance, user behaviour and can even target the audience for ads.
PPC (Pay per Click): Pay Per Click is a type of marketing on digital platforms in which advertisers pay publishers a certain amount whenever their ad is clicked.
It is a way to generate traffic which might be less from organic search.
Quality Score: Quality Score is a score developed by Google in order to determine quality of ads and how keywords, landing pages and ads are associated with each other.
This score is generally on a scale of 1-10 which depends on keywords clicked, chosen or ranked or ads being placed on them and is estimated by the number of impressions, clicks and how much time an ad is clicked.
Reach: Reach refers to the number of unique users who actually viewed your ad. Any video, images on any digital platform or social media platform displayed for marketing purposes when seen by a number of users contribute to your ads reach , however any searched ad does not contribute to reach.
Referral:Referral in simple terms means, redirecting or being referred from one website to another via a link or button click on referring website. In Google Analytics, referral is that website from which you got redirected to another site.
Remarketing / Retargeting: Retargeting or Remarketing refers to showing advertisements to those customers who have already visited your website earlier and get redirected to another website through a link or click and changing their interest in purchase of products from your website which they did not make earlier.
Responsive Web Design: Responsive Web Design means designing any website, webpage , blog or any article in such a way that it completely fits with the resolution of any devices. Fore.g., if a webpage is properly displayed in computer and mobile devices as both having their own resolutions, then that web page has responsive web design.
Web Designers are specially paid to make websites responsive.
Return On Ad Spend (ROAS): The amount of revenue generated from spending on an advertising is Return On Ad Spend. It is calculated by dividing the amount of revenue generated from the spend to the total amount spent on advertising.
Return On Investment (ROI): The revenue returned to a business out of the total amount spent on revenue. For e.g., if a revenue generated is $1000 out of the total of $10,000 spent on revenue, then ROI is 100% which is 10:1 which means you earned ten dollars for every 1 dollar you spent.
Rich Results: Rich results are those highlighted texts and images which helps Google to identify the purpose of your website or web page easily and accurately which also makes it easy to get users their search results if your webpage is about their search query.
Robots.txt: Robots.txt is a file created for search engines bots, spiders and crawlers such as Googlebot, to give them a description about how to crawl a website.
Schema Markup:Schema Markup is a markup language code added in a website which helps search engines to analyze some parts of a website easily. This markup language was created in collaboration with Google, Microsoft, Yahoo and Yandex.
Search Engine Algorithm: It is an algorithm used by different search engines to rank different webpages and decide which websites to show in search engine results. Each search engine has their own Algorithm and they keep on updating them timely. Google Search Algorithm now after updating is Phantom Update.
Search Engine Results Page (SERP): A web page which displays different search queries results in a search engine.
Search Engine Marketing: Marketing and Advertising of products and services using search engines such as Google Search Ads which is done through paid advertising. Social media marketing and management does not come under this marketing.
Search Intent: The purpose and meaning of any search query and to describe why any term is searched on the internet.
Search Query: Anything or any term searched on the internet in order to acquire some information about that term is your Search Query.
Seo: The technique used by digital marketers to improve the ranking and performance of any website in Search Engine Results. Search Engine Optimization, search engines are optimized in such a way that they start recognizing newly created websites and their content and help users find them easily.
Seo audit: Seo Audit means how your website is performing in terms of search engine results after the search engine optimization has been done.
Sessions: Sessions refers to how many times your website is being visited by same and different users through different campaigns , links or redirects. Sessions also include different page interactions on a single website or sometimes single page only. Sessions generally expire after midnight or 30mins of inactivity in that page.
Session Duration (also known as Time on Site): Average time spent on any website by a user. It is calculated by dividing the total duration of all sessions in particular time stamps to the total number of sessions in the same time stamp.
Shopping Ads (also known as Product Ads): An advertisement created for products which are only sold online through digital platforms by displaying proper images, price, title, product name, store in the advertisements.
Sitelink (or Sitelink Extension): Sitelinks are the different links or hyperlinks of different subpages of a website which are created by Google in order to help users easily navigate through those pages. These pages might appear in certain search engine results which Google thought the need to create Sitelinks.
Sitemap: Sitemap is an XML file which contains information about all the URLs available on a certain website which are available for crawling by search engine crawlers. If you have sitemap uploaded on your website, then search engine webmasters will find it and crawling will start on those pages.
Slug: Slug means a part of a URL which refers to a specific webpage. For e.g., In “www.technicalsaint.com/digital-marketing-terms” , “digital-marketing- terms” is slug.
Social Media Optimization (SMO): The techniques and strategies used by digital marketers in optimization in order to promote any product or business on social media platforms. It includes optimizing social media posts, profiles and to maintain user engagement on all platforms.
Source: Source is that medium through which a user visited any website be it organic, paid, referral or direct. For e.g., if you search for something on Google, then it is direct, and if you clicked any referral link and then got redirected to the website, then it is referral.
Spider: Another term for Crawler.
SSL Certificate: SSL Certificate is a type of digital certificate which tells about the authenticity of a website and securely establishes the connection between server and client of that website. If any website is not secure, then don’t fall prey to that as it is not secure and you might end up losing your data.
Title Tags: It is an HTML element which displays the title of content or article of a webpage. This title may or may not appear in search engine results.
This code is different for different websites which are automatically generated and need to be installed on a webpage which you want to track.
Universal Resource Locator (URL): A unique address of any webpage, resource, or site on the internet through which any user located them and identifies them is URL.
URL Parameter: URL or UTM Parameters are those parameters or code which are added to the url that helps in tracking and analytics. When someone clicks on a URL having UTM parameters, this code or parameters are sent back to Google Analytics for tracking purposes and generally starts after the ‘?’ question mark. Fore.g., https://www.technicalsaint.com?utm_source=tehcnicalsaint&utm_medium=referal&utm_campaign=library.
User Experience (UX): User Experience as clear from the term is what’s a user’s experience or interaction with a website.
User Interface (UI): An interface or display created for the user which is easy to use and attractive when the user interacts with digital devices. Different UI’s are Linux, Windows and Mac.
Voice Search: Any search query whose results are displayed in the search engine when the user searches for them using their voice rather than manually writing. There are many voice assistants nowadays which help users for better search experience such as Google Assistant, Cortana, Siri and Bixby.
White Hat SEO: Using genuine optimization strategies and techniques for search engine optimization which are under search engines guidelines and rules and are approved by them.
Zero Moment of Truth: Zero Moment of Truth comes under the buying process where any customer researches a product before buying it which is called an online decision making moment at Google.